About the Program


The Berit Mila Program of Reform Judaism is governed by the Berit Mila Board of Reform Judaism.  Responsibilities include producing and sponsoring Berit Mila courses, screening candidates to ensure that qualified medical professionals enroll into courses offered, overseeing the functionality of the program, and monitoring the qualifications of the certified Reform mohalim. 

The board consists of the following people:

  • Certified Mohalim
  • Reform Rabbis
  • Representatives of the CCAR, HUC-JIR,and URJ

Ex-Officio members include:

  • The Founding Chair and Co-Chair of the Program
  • The President and Executive Director of the CCAR
  • The President and Provost of HUC-JIR, and
  • The President and Vice President of the URJ


Berit Mila Board of Reform Judaism

Executive Committee:

Chair: Dr. Jack Langer

Co-chair: Rabbi Karen Thomashow

Vice chair:  Dr. Carol Gerson  

Secretary: Dr. David Rawdin

Treasurer: Dr. Jim Rubinstein  

Immediate past chair: Dr. Michael Blum

Board Members:

Dr. Steve Adashek

Dr. Emily Blake

Dr. Julie Kohl

Dr. Michael Miller

Dr. David Oppenheim 

Dr. Neal Silverstein

Rabbi Neal Schuster

Dr. Barry Meisel

Dr. Dorothy Greenbaum


Visit the contact page to contact the Chair or Co-Chair of the Berit Mila Board.